Skip to content

Respect

April 21, 2017

I show respect by communicating.

Dissenters often build walls to protect their personal point of view. They prevent the flow of communication and potential for understanding and expansion. 

Instead, I acknowledge the validity of another’s opinion, without it diminishing my stance. I believe there is space for more than one position on a topic or circumstance.

When I am available for discussion, I show respect by communicating.

From → A to Z Blog

14 Comments
  1. Another incisive post. One of the greatest ways of showing respect is acknowledging another’s point of view, for sure.

  2. Lydia Howe permalink

    Ah yes! Respect is so important. Even when I disagree with someone, I try and be respectful of their views. I think there’s a good balance between condoning something and acknowledging someone’s right to believe what they want.

    Visiting from the A to Z Challenge. You can see my “R” post here: https://lydiahowe.com/2017/04/21/r-is-for-raquel-atozchallenge/

    • It’s a fine line, isn’t it? Sometimes things are just differences of opinions. Sometimes, they really are immoral or inhumane or something…

  3. Dawn Lybarger permalink

    Amen, Beth! I’m currently re-reading a book called “Faith”, which makes the distinction between faith in ourselves, with the ability to be open to others’ points of view, and beliefs. Beliefs, in the authors’ view, are tightly held and rigid and do not allow for open communication. They are tunnel vision. And disrespectful.

    • It’s been awhile since I read that book; perhaps it would be good to revisit, also. Thanks for sharing that distinction

  4. I have little time for people who do not respect others. One visit to a restaurant is all it takes to learn that I will not be making a second trip with someone who treats wait staff or anyone else poorly.

    Emily | My Life In Ecuador | Reinventing a 2.4 km beach front boardwalk

  5. So true! Of course, it’s also important to make sure that everyone has researched the topic they have a decision on. Your opinion doesn’t really mean a whole lot if you haven’t done the research to back it. *shrugs* Just my opinion, anyway. 🙂

    With Love,
    Mandy

  6. Respect – it’s a strong feeling isn’t it. Communication is the name of the game, and respecting the other’s point of view …

    • Sometimes a true challenge when we feel so strongly about a particular topic. Getting into the other’s head and shoes — it might help bring understanding.

  7. messymimi permalink

    Exactly! We don’t have to always agree to be respectful and listen and learn. At the end, we can agree to disagree and still be friends.

    • I think it takes a certain generosity and maturity to honestly disagree and remain friends…congrats to you for being able to do that.

Leave a Reply

