Skip to content

Joy

April 12, 2017

I greet the day with joy and gratitude.

The media fills our eyes and ears with all that is wrong with the world. Friends and colleagues beleaguer us with their ills and woes.

Instead, I turn off the toxic news and start my day with appreciation for all that I have, those I love, and wondrous things that will happen today. In order to journal my gratitude at the end of the day, I spend my time looking for, and mentally recording, all the good that happens (and amazingly forget about the rest).

When I focus on the good, I greet the day with joy and gratitude

From → A to Z Blog

20 Comments
  1. I’m such a believer in gratitude helping us to fins our own joy – thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  2. Thanks Beth – a great attitude. My muscles in that regard need a bit of exercise to strengthen them a bit. I’ll try to record mentally or otherwise at the end of the day what brought me joy …

  3. Beth, what a marvelous post and wise words. Focusing on the Joy in your life is an excellent way to proceed! Thanks!!

  4. Rebecca Douglass permalink

    I like the idea that knowing you will journal at the end of the day makes you look at the day differently. I can see it helping to look for joy–and also just helping to look for detail. Maybe I should get back to keeping my journal more regularly. For years it’s mostly been a travel log.

    • I used only two lines in the journal to record my three good things, something I did for someone, and something I did for myself. Shorthand reminders… and years later, when I looked at that section of my journal, many of the days came streaming back to me, just from those few words… it was amazing.

  5. Most of us have an amazing amount to be grateful for, but don’t ever give it a thought. Excellent post!

  6. I find myself needing a switch off from the 24/7 news cycle every now and again.

    Phillip | J is for Jean-san

    • Consume Mindfully… decide what you want to include in your hearing and seeing… important to be conscious of it!

  7. What a great way to begin and end your day. It is so easy to get overwhelmed with the barrage of 24/7 negative news. Mindfully focusing on those things you are grateful for is a great antidote. WeekendsInMaine

    • And reading people’s lovely comments is also a fun way to end my day!!! Thanks for stopping by

  8. Wow! Appreciate and be grateful to the things you have in your life! Totally agree to your post πŸ™‚

  9. Very well said. I have also stopped listening to the news as there is nothing positive in it.

    • I am talking with people instead. About their lives and things that matter more than what the media thinks is important…

  10. leannelc permalink

    Loved this one – appreciation and gratitude are the key to a positive life – this has been a big lesson for me and it has paid off tenfold.
    Leanne | cresting the hill

Leave a Reply

