Skip to content

Napping

April 16, 2016

Sometimes, we take short sleep journeys, on purpose (if we have a late night coming up), because we have to (if we just can’t keep our eyes open), or as a habit (because it’s what we always do that time of day). Naps of 20 to 30 minutes provide the best experience for adults.

Napping can:

  • Restore alertness
  • Enhance performance and reduce mistakes and accidents
  • Offer a pleasant luxury, a mini-vacation
  • Provide relaxation and rejuvenation

(National Sleep Foundation, retrieved 2016)

How I add this to my life: Here’s a place I could use some work! I have had periods that included naps and will take one if I feel the need. But I confess to a negative attitude towards them, a sense that something is wrong (or I am getting old!), if I succumb. Perhaps time for a change for me?!

And you?

From → A to Z Blog

13 Comments
  1. Karen Lukeman permalink

    I rarely take naps…perhaps 6 a year. I’m not a morning person, but am an afternoon and evening person which is probably why…That said, naps are a wonderful “luxury”.

  2. I am okay with napping as needed but try to avoid doing it too much. They are said to increase productivity, if they’re very short.

  3. I LOVE a good nap! Sometimes I don’t sleep well at night, so a nap supplies me with my energy. Yes, I nap more that I am older, but I still accomplish quite a bit. A nap builds stamina… it is a positive feature… you’ll see, one day! 😉

  4. I love a nap. It gets me fired up for the rest of the day. Think I’ll take one now!!!

    #AtoZchallenge
    Meet My Imaginary Friends

  5. I love naps, and take them as often as I can!

  6. I am a terrible napper. If I actually fall asleep there is no way I want to get up after twenty or thirty minutes. I am done for the day.

  7. Power-napping is the way to go! If I accidentally nap a full hour or more, I wake up totally disoriented. What time is it? What day is it?
    Returning the visit from AtoZ
    Wendy at Jollett Etc.

    • I too can be confused if I sleep too long. But I trust my body to take as much as it needs…

Leave a Reply

