Skip to content

Hugging

April 9, 2016

A hug a day just might keep the doctor away. Hugging is a marker of intimacy and helps generate the feeling that others are there to help in the face of adversity. And if you don’t have another human nearby? Dogs and cats do a pretty good job of filling in.

 Hugging can:

  • Reduce stress
  • Prevent the common cold
  • Minimize cold symptoms

(US News and World Reports 2016)

How I add this to my life: My cat loves to hug. When I pick him up, he leans into me to suggest that the feeling is mutual. I have also been hugging friends more often when I see them. My daughter gets regular hugs, as does my partner, especially when things aren’t going quite right, either for them or between us. Hugging and breathing together–hugging meditation according to Thich Nhat Hanh–benefits everyone.

And you?

From → A to Z Blog

22 Comments
  1. Hugging is known to have positive physiological and psychological effects. Could we all do this more? Would be nice …

    • We can try….I met someone’s boyfriend yesterday and hugged him when he was leaving… I think he was surprised but he’s now part of the family, so why not?

  2. Karen Lukeman permalink

    All my family and friends know how much I love to give hugs! This is the way that I show that I love and care about them! And Beth, you will get a hug when I see you next! 🙂

  3. Yes, I LOVE hugs. Since I don’t have a dog or cat I head to the waterfront to pet the dogs, ferrets, and sometimes cats that are being walked by their owners. I love connecting with people and animals… it brings me joy! Wonderful post.

    • Gwynn, I admire your resourcefulness. Getting the perks of pet ownership (without the cleanup!)

  4. I’m a big fan of hugging. Heart-to-heart is a beautiful way to connect and harmonize energy, and it feels so good.

  5. elixired permalink

    Yes Hugs brings in a sense of protection and love 🙂

  6. MWhite:LittleCunningPlan permalink

    What a great theme you’ve chosen! Yes, we are big huggers around here. Melissa from
    LittleCunningPlan

  7. richajindal permalink

    Hugging is a great stress buster it gives me a feeling of the person is there for me. Thanks for sharing.

    Richa
    http://www.richajindal.com
    http://www.jindalpackers.com/blog

  8. True that, Hugs are miracles at the time of adversities and it always help in regulating mood while making us feel special. Loved it Beth ! 🙂

  9. That is so sweet! Our dog will tolerate hugs for about a nanosecond and then he needs his space!

  10. A little love never hurt anyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

