Skip to content

Creating

April 4, 2016

Use the other side of your brain to be artistic or musical. Move or write. Touch paper or clay. Play an instrument. Decorate a cake, make a sweater. Do tai chi. Dance in the living room. Sing in the shower. Let your subconscious or unconscious guide you.

 Creating can:

  • Enhance one’s moods, emotions, and other psychological states
  • Positively impact important physiological parameters
  • Heal emotional injuries
  • Increase understanding of oneself and others
  • Develop a capacity for self-reflection
  • Reduce symptoms
  • Alter behaviors and thinking patterns

(Am J Public Health. 2010 February; 100(2): 254–26)

How I add this to my life: I try to attend weekly/monthly meetings of several organized groups that focus on activities I love (contra-dancing and folk singing). I facilitate and participate in a creative writing group once a month at the HIV center.

 And you?

From → A to Z Blog

10 Comments
  1. Creating is central to my being. I create something every day. Meals, desserts, paintings, drawings, sketches, poems, pages to my books and blogs, are but a few things that I create. Thanks for getting the creative juices flowing with this post Beth!

    • Stephanie, you are wise and present to be aware of the creating you are doing so regularly!

  2. Creativity in itself releases so much life that we have hidden within us. It is in many ways discovering ourselves.
    Shalom,
    Patricia @ EverythingMustChange

    • Patricia, what a great image and idea about discovering ourselves by seeing what is hidden when we aren’t creative. Thanks!

  3. I have always LOVED Creativity… knitting, sewing, making rugs, baskets… learning new projects. Now my creativity is enjoying the sea life, the people and their animals, and the glistening water and the clouds whether fluffy and bright or dark and threatening. Life and creativity are central to my being. Fabulous post!!

    • Gwynn, so glad you have access to such beauty and take the time to recognize and appreciate it.

  4. Thanks Beth so much! Yes, creativity is all about us though we can fail to notice, but actually doing something can bring about lasting change. When I went walking today I touched the trees and said hello to them as per one of your previous posts

  5. I can tell when I haven’t done something to satisfy my creative side in a while. It’s almost an addiction. I’m not sure I could “schedule” it into my daily life, but it’s certainly something to consider. Good luck on the challenge! We’re doing “I’ve Got The Music In Me” this year on The Road We’ve Shared. – looking at how important music is in the Down syndrome community. I hope you’ll stop by and see/hear! http://theroadweveshared.com/category/a-to-z-blogging-challenge-2016

Leave a Reply

