Skip to content

Bathing

April 2, 2016

Bathing in the forest, called “shinrin-yoku” in Japan, is a simple walk in the woods. Trees emit certain essential oils called phytoncides that benefit humans. This activity has become popular in Japan as a way to relax and relieve stress.

Forest bathing can:

  • Boost immune system
  • Lower blood pressure
  • Reduces stress
  • Improves moods
  • Increases ability to focus, even in children with ADHD
  • Accelerates recovery from surgery or illness
  • Increases energy level
  • Improves sleep

(NY Department of Conservation, online 2016)

How I add this to my life: I have a short walk near my home that takes me through an overarching canopy of trees. It takes me about twenty minutes to walk this half mile and return home. Although I am often engrossed in my thoughts on the way out, when I am coming back, I try to remember to thank the trees for their embrace and helpful essential oils.

 And you?

From → A to Z Blog

16 Comments
  1. That is so lovely Beth thank you. I also step out amongst trees when I go walking. I will keep all this more or mind as I go walking and maybe touch the trees also and say thank you …

  2. Karen Lukeman permalink

    Love this as well. Your writing is wonderful, and made me visualize a few walks that we had this week. Instant calmness.

  3. I do love bathing in the forest. It’s nice to be surrounded by huge trees every now and then. 😄

  4. Ohhhh this feels SO wonderful. I can feel the healing power come straight through the computer. I don’t have a forest to walk through, but I do have a lovely waterfront to walk along and enjoy. Thanks for the beautiful post… I NEEDED it!

    • Isn’t it amazing how we can connect through cyberspace and electronic machines! I’m so glad it resonated for you.

  5. That’s interesting. I wonder if it works as well for people with allergies.

    • Great question. I haven’t seen anything about that in the research, but I will keep my eyes open. Thanks for your comments.

  6. Beautiful imagery – I love touching trees as I walk past, they’re always calming.

  7. Nothing like trees to restore us to serenity. Good luck with the writing!

  8. I do so love my trees. Growing up in Michigan we had some amazing trees and I’ve always felt connected to them walking through the woods. Now in Idaho, the pines call to me as well. You’re absolutely right on the benefits of walking amongst them. You really do come out of the trails with an over-all feeling of well being.

    • We have been part of Nature for millions of years (more time than not). I believe the connection is basic to us.

Leave a Reply

