Skip to content

Appreciation

April 1, 2016

Take the time to look around and appreciate what you have. Focus on the good, not what is lacking. A little gratitude can go a long way.

Appreciation can:

  • Expand our relationships
  • Encourage our physical health
  • Improve our psychological health
  • Enhance empathy and reduce aggression
  • Augment our sleep quality
  • Increase our mental strength

(Forbes 2014)

How I add this to my life: The easiest place for me to remember to appreciate is when I eat. I try to remember that it has taken many hands to bring food to me, along with the support of the sun, rain, and countless plants and animals, all interacting and oblivious to my pleasure I derive from their effort

And you?

From → A to Z Blog

16 Comments
  1. Appreciation! That’s so lovely Beth thank you! I love my food and will try to be more appreciative of it bearing in mind all what you say of its origins!

    • Susan, Thanks for coming by. You must be in the midst of planning your trip, so I APPRECIATE it!

  2. I like that. Food is a good one.

    I try to appreciate time. I had a crazy busy fall and winter, and now I have a little more spare time. I’m thankful I had the time then to do work that needed to be done, and now I’m thankful I have time to read and write blog posts.

    Sara
    empireforablueberry.com

  3. Beth that’s a very nice thought and loved the way you have put it up….I always try to appreciate every situation that is making my life better 🙂

    • Yes. Another challenge is to appreciate the ones that don’t seem to be adding to our lives…

  4. An excellent theme! Appreciation – something too often left unseen and unsaid. I used to keep “gratitude journals” a long time ago, but I still go back and read them from time to time. A nice reminder for all of us and a good way to start the challenge. @sheilamgood at Cow Pasture Chronicles

    • Sheila, I too look at my old gratitude journals (written before they were so popular) and I find I can remember many of the days just by these brief events. Thanks for coming by, and congrats on being part of the A to Z Challenge.

      • I love pulling mine from the shelf and reliving a moment. It’s not a bad habit to get into. Best to you in the challenge.

  5. In a time when so many of us have gotten caught up in the day to day stress of living, this has been a wonderfully refreshing reminder of what really needs our attention. Great post & wonderful theme! I look forward to the rest of your posts! 😀

  6. So enjoyed your post. I will be back for more.

    Diana
    @MontanaHens (Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter)
    https://playingwithoutlimits.wordpress.com/

  7. It is funny, I enjoyed your post so much, I truly thought I had left a comment. As I mentioned, I love being out in nature. As a small child I would wander into the woods that surrounded my home. I had a burnt out base of a tree that I crawled into that I made my home away from home. I always felt safe in the woods. Thank you for your wise post.

Leave a Reply

