Skip to content

SUNNY DAYS

April 22, 2015

Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy
Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry
Sunshine on the water looks so lovely
Sunshine almost always makes me high.
~John Denver

Feeling the sun, its warmth and healing, is a luxurious sensation, especially during the winter months when it’s lacking strength and intensity. Whether directly on skin or through clothing, the sun’s rays provide life-giving energy, without which we wouldn’t exist on this planet. Many of us find ourselves more joyous when it’s sunny, more photos and paintings depict fair weather, and we spend more time outside then. Getting connected with the earth helps ground us. And we can always remind ourselves that the sunny days will return, which inspires us during difficult times.

Warmth/heat. Bright/blinding. Life/inspirational.

Where are you on your favorite sunny day?

From → A to Z Blog

7 Comments
  1. elaaw permalink

    What a timely, joyous message on this sunny April spring day! The daffodils have just bloomed here, lined up like sunny faces in a row. I can hear the singing of “Sunshine on my shoulders…” and also the bright guitar picking and joyous lyrics of “Here Comes the Sun”. Thank you, Beth!

  2. I love that John Denver song .. actually all of them. Our days up on the highveld (here in South Africa) are mostly sunny (except when it storms) and for me there’s nothing nicer than stepping out and observing all about me. But the beach too is a delight. We’ll be down there on Sunday for a brief spell … can’t wait to see the sea!

    • I too will be at the beach on Sunday (and Thursday ) this week! It’s only a half hour away, and it restores my soul!

  3. I have to agree, there is something about the warmth of the sun that is different from other kinds of warmth, it always lifts my spirits, even at work.

  4. I’m lucky to be at home, writing, so can pop out in the garden to the hammock, and two seconds after that the cat and the dog will arrive to share it with me. It is wonderful to be out there in the sun with the breeze and the birdsong, and let’s face it, it’s where we should be. Love John Denver! ~Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

Leave a Reply

