Skip to content

EMAIL

April 6, 2015

Give me a ticket for an airplane
Ain’t got time to take a fast train
Lonely days are gone
I’m goin’ home
My baby just wrote me a letter.
~Wayne Carson Thompson (The BoxTops, The Letter)

Email opens up our world, in space and time. We can reach almost anywhere, for minimal cost (assuming community computers and phones in less ‘developed’ areas). We can share ideas as quickly as we can type (or speak into our cell phones) and hit ‘send.’ We can reply if we are awake late at night or early in the morning and not disturb the receiver. Our friend can take time, cogitate on an answer, and respond when ready.

Email lacks additional senses we derive from a written letter – expression in handwriting, tactile stimulation of paper, and surprise in the stamp chosen. We can’t archive email as well for future generations; it won’t show up in a shoebox in the attic. But it provides the human connection that adds meaning.

Informal, structured. Immediate, anticipated. Spontaneous, edited. Unique to humans?

What is your favorite form of communication?

From → A to Z Blog

8 Comments
  1. I remember saying years ago I would NEVER use e mail, NEVER have a Kindle. Thank heavens (or rather technology) for this great facility of communication. Of course the paradox is that while we’re connected in so many ways, technology can also serve a disconnecting purpose. Maybe un-intended consequences in the way that we don’t send that handwritten letter any more, we speak less face to face etc etc etc .. always so busy on our smart whatevers!

    • It’s a conundrum, isn’t it? Yet you and I wouldn’t know each other, and I so enjoy your posts, without this technology that allows us to connect across so much physical space!

  2. I love email, it does open up a whole world of communication….but I still can’t resist writing a good old fashioned letter now and then 🙂

    • There is something about the feel of the paper, the folding, placing an address and stamp, that allow a being present and awareness of what you are doing, maybe more than typing on a keyboard (which I am now doing!)

  3. Carolyn permalink

    E-mail is good – better, I think, than texting. My favorite communication? Hugs. Handwritten thank-you notes for a gift, especially when the gift is from someone of the “letter writing” generation.

    • Yes, Hugs! I just hugged someone I hadn’t seen in a few months, and it was so nice to reconnect!

  4. I love connecting with email. I find it better thank texting personally.

    Good luck with the 2015 A to Z Challenge!
    A to Z Co-Host S. L. Hennessy
    http://pensuasion.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

