Skip to content

Otter

April 17, 2013
AnimalSpirits.com

AnimalSpirits.com

Messages:

»         Understand the value of playtime

Earlier and earlier, preschool children are leaning learning their letters and numbers. As important as it is to have an equal start, we need to let our children play. Play is an important tool for cognitive development, improves language development, increases imagination, develops thinking skills, and enhances social competence.

We need to let our adults play, also. Play makes us vital, alive, vibrant. It improves our relationships and lowers our stress levels. Whether we watch others play, carry on alone, or join a group, we can use play to energize and connect.

Our pets remind us of the joy of being silly. Consider the number of viral Facebook posts that include endearing acts by dogs and cats. A puppy’s engaging actions help erase the frustration of unraveled rolls of toilet paper or chewed slippers. Truly, what’s more important, anyway?

What do you do each day to play?

From → A to Z Blog

6 Comments
  1. I always make time to knit. It’s relaxing, fun, and I end up with something cool. 🙂

  2. I also like to knit! I play with my little sisters. I agree- while teaching abroad parents would bring their 3 year olds to learn English and then complain that all they did in class was sing songs and colour- they wanted them to learn grammar! It’s ridiculous. I’m all for letting children play and enjoy their childhood! Great post!

  3. Thank you for the reminder of what Otter teaches us. Beautifully written. I play in the dirt (gardening)
    and spend time with my grandchildren. 🙂

  4. Otters looks so playful and FUN!! To have fun I spend my days with my 2 year old Granddaughter. That little girl knows how to party!! ; )
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Connie
    A to Z-ing to the end
    Peanut Butter and Whine

  5. Jenny permalink

    This is a very interesting A to Z! I’m glad I stopped by. Thankfully, my husband and sons are very playful, which helps me lighten up 🙂

    Jenny at Choice City Native

  6. Wayne Stratz permalink

    Otters are so cool! I have been blessed to see them play. As far as myself, when at my best, teaching is play. Stratoz goes from A to Z

Leave a Reply

