Skip to content

Dingo

April 4, 2013
dingo National Geographic

National Geographic

Messages:

»         Value companionship
»         Understand silence

No man is an island. We are a communal species, one that enjoys the benefits of another’s friendship and presence. Beyond other people, we also look to pets – dogs and cats – to provide the companionship we desire.

The comfortable silence between two close friends. A mutual awareness that allows each person to dwell on their own thoughts while in the presence of the other. It’s a special relationship, one that often – but not always – develops over time.

In the silence (whether alone or with others), we can often hear subtle voices of nature, our inner nature, or other important messages. It takes a certain self-confidence to be comfortable with silence and another type to speak. It takes awareness to find the balance between them.

Similarly, we need time together, time apart. To everything, there is a season.

Do you have a time of day when you generally prefer silence?

 

From → A to Z Blog

10 Comments
  1. I prefer silence in the mornings, especially when I first wake up. I don’t want anyone talking to me.

  2. Oh, the morning, definitely! Woe betide anyone who stresses me out before I’m properly awake!

  3. Today is a day where silence suits me. My students are working on a Holocaust assignment, so it’s a quiet day in my classroom.

  4. I prefer silence a lot of the time since my fibro tends to react badly to load noises so myself and my husband lead a quiet life. That quiet life however is filled with noises from our menagerie who love to chat with us.

  5. I am really enjoying your posts. I have a story about a dingo that stole one of my Blundstone boots when I was camping in Australia. Cheeky.

  6. I like a spell of silence first thing in the morning, before I come around properly 🙂

    I stopped by from the A to Z Challenge list. Can you believe we’re at the end of the first week already? I’m glad to have tomorrow off!

    Good luck with the rest of the alphabet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

