Skip to content

THankfulness

May 2, 2012

We can only be said to be alive in those moments

When our hearts are conscious of our treasures.

~Thornton Wilder

Thanks. An automatic comment, part of the routine talk. “How are you?” “Fine, have a nice day.” “Thanks.” Pro forma. What if we meant it?

More than fifteen years ago, I decided to try journal-writing, using instructions that included listing five positive daily events. Previous to that, I would end my day with a rant about all the unjust unpleasantries I had experienced. Now, I spent the day on the lookout for something to add to my positive list. I would continually remind myself of the items I had already noticed and my evening routine was filled with warm recollections of my day.

It changed my life. I became happier, cheerful (mostly), and grateful for wondrous events while they were happening. The mundane became precious and I appreciated my life. Such a simple act, such a powerful change.

 

[This ends my extension of the A to Z Blog Challenge to include CH, PH, SH, and TH which totals 30 posts to be used as daily reflections throughout the month. Attributes of a Good Life. Thanks for coming along with me.]

Try it!

From → A to Z Blog

3 Comments
  1. How lovely, Beth. I must try that. I guess it’s an extension of really living the moment.

  2. Oh this is excellent advice. We have so many little things to be thankful for, it’s just remembering them that becomes hard sometimes. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Lovely Beth thank you! Yes, amongst all the not so good things that are part of our lives, it is essential that we find the good and true, the positive and uplifting. We need reminding if we cannot count our blessings …

Leave a Reply

