Skip to content

XOXO

April 27, 2012

We need four hugs a day for survival. We need eight hugs a day for maintenance. We need twelve hugs a day for growth.

~Virginia Satir

 Humans need physical touch. Without it, we don’t thrive and can actually die. Hugs and kisses. We lavish them on our pets and each other.

Enthusiastic wiggle of a dog’s rump with a muzzle thrust into your hand; incessant rubbing of a cat on your leg; innocent reaching for your hand by a loved one; caress of soft fabric on your neck; hugging meditation, breathing in and out together; a gentle hand on your shoulder; shower spray running down your body; warm phone call from your friend; comments on your A to Z blog.

If we pay attention, we find many daily examples of positive touch. Did you get your twelve today?

From → A to Z Blog

13 Comments
  1. All your A-Z posts will have added a positive touch to the day of anyone who read them. Here’s XOXO from me. x

  2. Not yet, but the day is still young. I’ll get and give my quota!

  3. You know just the other day i was meeting the boyfriend of a young woman I know and was pleasantly surprised when he hugged me instead of shaking my hand. It felt good.

    Virtual hugs to you Beth, I have enjoyed meeting you on this A to Z challenge.

  4. conspiracyqueen permalink

    love this post

  5. Had the shower one today so far – and of course some comments on my blog (thanks for yours)! x0x0 to you!

  6. Great “X” post and I remember the quote from years ago. I try to give and get as many hugs in a day as I can. I really do think hugging and human contact is food for the soul.

    Thanks for participating in the A to Z Challenge.

    Jenny @ Pearson Report
    Co-Host of the Blogging from A to Z Challenge.

  7. I like the opening statement. Imagine what even more can do!

  8. Caught the subtle hint about comments on your blog. Ha! Love those XXs & OOs!

  9. Oh, I didn’t–and how I miss a tender touch. However, by flourishing without the neccessary touch, I’ve proven you won’t neccessarily die. God I’m strong. Yet, I’d trade my fortitude for a place under that dog’s ear.

  10. Good post. I didn’t know how important touch was. I live far from family, but I have two need-to-be-in-physical-contact-at-all-times animals, so I’m probably covered.

  11. Here’s a comment to make you feel good! 🙂 What sweet post!
    🙂

  12. Val permalink

    Thanks for the reminder, Beth. Giving more healthy touches to others will also bring them back to us. Win-win. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. XOXO « Beth Lapin

Leave a Reply

