Skip to content

Openness

April 17, 2012

 It’s amazing what ordinary people can do if they set out without preconceived notions.

~Charles F. Kettering

Open Mind. I had a professor once who told me that she looked to learn something from each of her students. I glanced around and spotted one particularly annoying young man in our class. As my eyes lingered on him, our professor engaged him in a conversation about one of his personal interests and I discovered that he had depth and was “worth” knowing.

Open Heart. I had a boyfriend once who told me that he could respect people whose opinions differed from his. I made an ironic self-aware comment that I was intolerant of intolerant people. As I grew to know him, I discovered that our opinions often come from our ego and don’t always accurate reflect our true self.

 Openness. Now I try to see that deep inside of every human being is a human Being. Approaching each day, each person, each situation with openness allows for the entrance of great joy, amazing adventure, and deep connections.

From → A to Z Blog

3 Comments
  1. If more of us could embrace that…
    Thanks for your heartfelt A to Z posts
    we are writing a serial fantasy for the A to Z challenge Lady’s Knight
    Best to you

  2. thepinkrachael permalink

    another one of those things that’s easy to forget sometimes! Well said!

  3. Good post. It is so easy to disagree with someone, but makes you a better person to not make a big deal out of it.

Leave a Reply

